December 5, 2012

Reds named Organization of the Year

The Reds players pause for a moment around the cup during their division-clinching celebration.

Well, I didn’t even know that Baseball American gave out an Organization of the Year Award. In fact, for a moment, I wondered if it was another first-time-ever-given awards, like that Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award. But I looked it up, and it’s been given since 1982. It’s an award that’s older than most of the Reds’ team.

And, in all that time, the Reds have never won it, which probably explains why I’ve never heard of it.

But all that changed this year. Baseball America said that Cincinnati deserved it for their ability build a contender from home-grown players. They aren’t wrong. Joey Votto, Johnny Ceuto, Zack Cozart, Ryan Hanigan, Jay Bruce, Homer Bailey, Devin Mesoraco, Mike Leake, and Drew Stubbs–almost all of those are really solid names.

And they’re not done yet. Let’s not forget young Billy Hamilton. But after that? I’m afraid we’re running out of guys that Dan O’Brien picked out. Oh well, we should have a solid 5 more years of Organization of the Year caliber play before we have to worry about that.

Comments are closed.